Bark, George

Since I write bedtime stories and chapter books, you know – the kinds of stuff you read to your kids or they read to themselves early on, I will occasionally talk about (not review, mind you) the books and stories I read to my own kids.

Here’s a favorite in our house:  Bark, George, by famous cartoonist turned children’s book writer and illustrator, Jules Feiffer.  Next to his political cartoons of the 1950s, he may be best known for illustrating The Phantom Tollbooth, written by Norton Juster.

My youngest son and I found Bark, George at the library in January.  It became an instant classic.  He wanted it read every night at bedtime for at least a week.  Luckily for him, the weekend after we borrowed it from the library, I attended the SCBWI Midwinter Conference in New York City.  Jules Feiffer was a keynote speaker at the conference.  I bought his book in the conference bookstore and Mr. Feiffer signed it.  He was very gracious.  When I told him my son loved this book, he told me I should bring him to the conference.

The book is about a puppy named George who is having a little trouble barking.  Every time his mother tells him to bark, he makes an animal sound – a meow, a quack, an oink or a moo.  Mama Pooch takes him to the vet who makes an incredible discovery and cures George’s barking problem.  The twist at the end is my son’s favorite part.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Bark, George

  1. My kids loved this book, too! So cute.

  2. I love the sound of Bark George! So very clever.

  3. Julie Musil says:

    Hi Brooke! I haven’t read this book yet, but it sounds adorable. I’ll bet even my 11 year olds would love it. And that’s pretty darn exciting that you got to meet the author.

  4. Nice to meet you, Brooke! I’ve never read that book, but I have two little boys at home and I bet they loved it! My blog partner, erica, and I are at a writing conference right now! What a good idea to get a book signed. I don’t know why I didn’t think of it! We found you through Vicki Tremper. :0) Welcome to Blogville. It’s a very friendly place and I think you’ll be happy you moved in! Christy

  5. We’ll have to look this one up. I love how open most authors are to their audiences–what a treat to meet him in person so soon after discovering the book!

  6. Cute book! I love Feiffer’s work. And, long, long ago, my daughter and his were in the same class. He used to come in to give talks about cartooning.

  7. Grandpa says:

    My Grandchildren would love this – I mean the would love it if I were to read the story out to them.
    Thanks for stopping by at The Farm.

    Grandpa
    Life on The Farm

  8. Hi, Brooke. I was at the SCBWI conference in NY as well, and also had Jules Feiffer sign a copy of this book. (Weren’t those lines crazy?) I gave it to a friend of mine, but now I’m wishing I had bought another copy for myself. It is such a cute book!

  9. lbdiamond says:

    Aww, that’s super cute!

  10. tanya reimer says:

    Hi Brooke. What a treasure! We read that book too, instant hit!

    I’m passing on one lovely blog award to you. Please, stop by my place and pick it up. Congrats.
    tanyareimer.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

