An Interview with Tembo

Savanna Stories by Brooke Rousseau

Tembo is one of the characters in Savanna Stories.  In fact, he was the first character I created, back before I even knew there would be a collection.  He stars in the stories, Tembo the Elephant (in Volume I) and Tembo Can’t Sleep (in the Complete Set), and makes an appearance in Hippo Splash, Waiting for Tembo, Oka the Friendly Snake, Mbuni the Ostrich, and Going Bananas.

Brooke:  Hi Tembo.  Thanks for joining us today.  What is your favorite thing to do on the savanna?

Tembo:  Jambo Brooke.  I love playing kick rock with my friends or splashing in the watering hole with my family.

Brooke:  That sounds like fun.  My kids want to know what Africa is like.

Tembo:  Well, I only know my little part of Africa, which is the Sergengeti plain.  And I know from my friend Nyumbu the gnu, who migrates north every year, that the Maasai Mara is very similar to the Serengeti.  It’s beautiful here!  When the sun sets it turns the sky almost every color you can imagine.

Brooke:  It sure does.  My youngest son wants to know if you ever see rainbows.  We have a saying here that April showers bring May flowers, and he learned about rainbows in preschool.

Tembo:  Oh yes, I have seen beautiful rainbows that never seem to end.  What are April showers?

Brooke:  April is the beginning of Spring for us, so you could say it is our rainy season.

Tembo:  We have one or two rainy seasons, but some years they are too short or come too late, and not enough food grows for all the animals.  Then I lose family members and friends to the drought.

Brooke:  That is very sad.  So you must celebrate the rain, right?

Tembo:  Yes.  The rain is important to our life cycle.  And it is more fun to splash in the watering hole when the hole has water.  The savanna can get very hot and dusty during the dry seasons.

Brooke:  Well, I’ll let you get back to that game of kick rock with Nyumbu and the others.  Asante sana for taking the time out to answer my questions!

TemboHakuna matata, Brooke!

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An Interview with Tembo

  1. My husband and I hope to visit Africa soon. We have lots of friends who study wildlife there: lions, chimpanzees, bonobos, and baboons. Sigh. Some day… 🙂

  2. Cynthia says:

    How clever to interview one of your characters. That’s a great exercise.

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I just subscribed to yours. Good luck with the writing!

  3. Anita Miller says:

    Love the interview! Very cooperative interviewee!

    • Alison: I hope you get to visit Africa someday. It is unlike anywhere else in the world, truly. It reminds us how insignificant we are.
      Cynthia: Thanks so much for following! I’ve been following you in Google Reader for a couple of weeks.
      Anita: Yes, Tembo is cooperative. He’s a very sweet little elephant!

      Thanks for reading!

  4. Tanya Reimer says:

    Thanks for the interview, your characters are so real! My daughter should love this story. I can never find her anything that interest her to read anymore, but I think you might have written the book for her! Yay!

  5. Poor Tembo, losing family members to drought. Of course he celebrates the rain.

  6. lbdiamond says:

    Great interview! 😉

Leave a Reply

