Shark vs. Train

We discovered Shark vs. Train by Chris Barton and Tom Lichtenheld at the library last year and I recently purchased the book for my youngest child.  Actually, we searched for it at the library after hearing a glowing review from a friend’s son.  He said it was one of his favorite books in the whole world.  My friend tweeted that to the author, Chris Barton, who tweeted back:  “And your 7 y.o. is one of my favorite book reviewers in the world. Please tell him I said hi!”

Now that is class!  So, of course we had to read this and it is just what any little boy would love.  My boys went through a train phase (especially the older one), and are still in a shark phase.  And my boys seem to love competitions of all kinds – everything is a race, dinner, getting dressed, getting buckled in the car….  So this book is full of awesome.

The shark and the train go head to head in a bunch of different competitions in a bunch of different venues.  Some will be obviously won by one or the other, some can’t be won by either (on one page they lament their lack of thumbs).  And in the end…well, I’ll let you find that out for yourself.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Shark vs. Train

  1. Susanna says:

    I have read so many glowing reviews of this book, but have yet to read the actual book! Clearly I have to go to the library 🙂

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    I have heard about this book so much I can’t remember if I’ve actually read it or not. Must get down the library, though the house is full of new books at the moment, Granny Pam spoiling me (I mean the kids 😉

  3. Vicki Tremper says:

    I just bought this yesterday! Great minds…

  4. Anita Miller says:

    Sounds cute! We’ve gotten some great books from the library and then just HAD to buy them so we’d have our own copy at home. I bet this happens a lot with picture books.

  5. Gail says:

    Wow, two things boys love! Sounds like a great book! I have two girls and they went through a shark and train phase too. I’ll have to read Shark VS Train.

  6. Wendy says:

    Sounds like one worth adding to my personal teacher library. Love, too, having books from the US that no one in New Zealand has seen or read yet… which happens surprisingly often.

  7. Cynthia says:

    Thanks for the book recommendation! I like sharks and my baby daughter likes trains. How perfect.

  8. Hi, Brooke. I love the story about your friend’s son. That’s sooooo awesome. After having heard about this book so much, we finally checked it out from the library recently, too. It is very popular!

Leave a Reply

