Interview with Suzette

Suzette is one of the two protagonists of my chapter book, The King and the Calico…in Paris.  I think you’ll really enjoy her personality.

Brooke:  Welcome to the blog, Suzette.  Were you named for the crepes?

Suzette licks a paw and rubs it across the top of her head.

Brooke:  Suzette?  Did you hear the question?

Suzette continues grooming herself.

Brooke:  Um, Suzette?  You’re embarrassing me.  Can you please answer the question?  You agreed to behave.

Suzette:  I’m waiting for a serious question.  Crepes?  Please.

Brooke:  Oh, sorry.  You sound a little like Pompidou, though.  He’s the one who thinks he’s a king.

Suzette:  *snort* Just because I don’t live in an apartment doesn’t mean I don’t have any self-esteem.  Stop wasting everyone’s time and let’s get to the real questions.

Brooke:  *clears throat* Well, then.  What is your favorite place in Paris?

Suzette:  Obviously the Eiffel Tower, because it’s where I live and where I find food and distraction.  I guess I’d live somewhere else if somewhere else was my favorite place, yanno?

Brooke:  That makes sense.  How did you end up on the street?

Suzette:  I don’t know.  I’ve been there for as long as I can remember, since I was a tiny kitten scrounging bits out of the gutter.

Brooke:  That’s so sad.

Suzette:  Don’t patronize me or I walk.

Brooke:  Right.  Sorry.  What’s the best food you find left behind by tourists at the Eiffel Tower?

Suzette:  A good flaky croissant is a rare and special treat, but I’m happy enough with the leftovers of a Camembert sandwich.

Brooke:  Yum.  I remember those – thick slices of creamy Camembert between the halves of a buttered baguette.  Nice choice.

Suzette:  Thanks for making me hungry, Brooke.

Brooke:  Oh, sorry.  You want me to make you something?

Suzette:  Nah, I’d better hit the road, but thanks for having me.  Next time, can I try a bubble bath?

Brooke:  Sure, anytime.  Thanks for stopping by.

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Interview with Suzette

  1. Susanna says:

    Suzette sounds like quite the character! Is this picture book?

  2. Thanks for commenting, Susanna. This is not a picture book, it’s a chapter book that is epublished.

  3. Suzette sound a lot like my cat, Miss Rita. And, yes, she insists on the Miss before her name. Sounds like a fun book.

  4. Hi, Brooke, Suzette sounds like a cool kitty, and your book sounds really interesting. I’ve been to Paris twice and love that city, and I love books that take place there. I’ll check your book out.
    BTW, thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting.

  5. Cynthia says:

    What a fun interview! Felines have a ton of personality, and you captured it here.

    Brooke, I also wanted to let you know that I’m giving you a Versatile Blogger award because I appreciate your support and I really enjoy your blog. For more details, go to: readisthenewblack.blogspot.com/2011/05/i-won-blogger-award.html

    Hope to read more interviews with your characters,
    Cynthia

  6. Thanks for the giggle. Great interview! 🙂

  7. Tanya Reimer says:

    HAHA! Love the interview. You’re so much fun. Nice meeting Suzette. Bought the book and will read it to my monsters shortly! Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

