Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School and Other Scary Things

This is a chapter book for boys in 1st to 3rd grades, a little older than my usual book talks.  The Alvin Ho series is written by Lenore Look and illustrated by LeUyen Pham.  My 8-year-old enjoyed this book enough to ask for Book 2, and he read bits of it to his younger brother, who now can’t wait to read it himself.  I heard author Lenore Look speak at the SCBWI Midwinter conference in NYC this winter.  She talked about how to put humor into your writing.  She made it sound like a lot of work!  And from my own experience, I know that what I think is funny in one of my manuscripts, my kids don’t.

Alvin Ho is a 2nd grader who immediately lists the many, many things he is allergic to.  He has an older brother who spends his time learning about everything, by reading books and the internet; and a little sister who is as annoying as little sisters everywhere.  He is so afraid of school that he never speaks there – not a single word, ever.  This contrasts greatly with his at-home alter ego, Firecracker Man.

I love that my son can enjoy a book about someone who is different than him, and I’m so glad there are 3 books in this series!  (Ms. Look, please write more.)

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School and Other Scary Things

  1. I will definitely check this one out. Good chapter books for boys are hard to find; the fact that your sons liked it is a big plus. Thanks for recommending.

  2. Susanna says:

    Sounds good! I love humor! What did your son think of Roscoe Riley Rules?

  3. Tanya Reimer says:

    Oh, thanks for the heads up on this one, sounds like a book my son will enjoy in a few years.

    All your neat posts impress me, so I have a versatile blogger award just for you. Stop by for a chat anytime and pick it up; Tanyareimer.blogspot.com
    Have fun with it!!

  4. He never speaks at school? but at home he’s known as Firecracker Man? I love contrasts like that that raise MUST FIND OUT questions!

  5. Sounds a wonderful series. Inspires me to keep writing.

  6. Catherine Johnson says:

    I’ve read Alvin Ho, it’s a great book!

  7. lenore look says:

    Thanks so much 4plugging Alvin! Sorry I made writing humor sound like such hard work. But it is! I was under strict orders to give it to you straight. So i did!

  8. I am completely at a loss for words. Squee! Thanks to Ms. Look for stopping by the blog and taking the time to comment. We absolutely want it straight! (My son just said, “There are only 3? Awww.”)

Leave a Reply

