Blog Awards

I still feel so new to all this social media stuff. And yet I have been lucky enough to make some new writerly friends in the short time I have been blogging. Several of those friends have recently given me blog awards.


From Cynthia Chen of Read is the New Black and Tanya Reimer from Life’s Like That, I have received the Versatile Blogger Award.

 

 


From Kerry Aradhya of Picture Books and Pirouettes and Catherine Nichols of Cath in the Hat, I have received the Irrestibly Sweet Award.

 

 

There are various rules that come with these awards. Things like, I have to tell you some number of random facts about myself, and I have to pass the awards on to some number of other bloggers. I don’t yet follow that many blogs (other than the 4 above, of course), but there are a couple of people who have made this journey sweet for me, too.

I pass the Versatile Blogger Award to Ben Langhinrichs of My Comfy Chair.
I pass the Irresistibly Sweet Award to Susanna Leonard Hill.

Both have welcomed me on this journey with open arms.

For the random facts portion of the blog, I want to tell you about my dog, Miss Fee. She is part bull terrier and part boxer, which means she’s a super fast runner, hyperactive and very sweet. I’m sure she looks very scary to others, and has a deep bark, but she just wants to love and be loved.

We have had a mole problem in our lawn for more than a year (and a squirrel problem and a chipmunk problem and a deer problem, but no more rabbit problem since Miss Fee joined our family). Yesterday, Miss Fee was barking at the front window for a long time so I let her out to run. Several minutes later, I followed her out and found her playing in the grass in a way that has become familiar to us. Her I-have-found-a-playmate-in-the-grass way.

It was a mole.

At first I thought she was trying to hurt the mole, but it soon became clear that she was just trying to play with it. Her tail wagged lazily and she sat and watched it until it tried to get away. Then she batted at it with a paw. She did not bite it or growl at it. She just wanted to play. The mole, of course, didn’t know this and managed to escape her.

Someday I’d like to write about my Fee.

So there you have it. Do you have pets that look different than their personalities? Have they inspired your stories?

This entry was posted in Life, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog Awards

  1. Susanna says:

    Fee sounds so cute! A story about her sounds like a great idea 🙂
    Thank you for passing the award to me – so sweet – proves you deserved it 🙂 I’m not too good about following award rules, but I will at least mention it on my blog and link back to you even if I don’t manage to tell anything new or pass it on. Thanks again!

  2. tanya reimer says:

    Got a perfect visual of your dog playing in the backyard! She sounds great. I have a St Bernard who loves attention, so if she catches wind of someone with hands, she’ll charge at them like a bull on a rampage (which leads to screaming, running and very ticked off people) but really, all she wants is a pet. Really. Promise. And maybe to drool on you a little.

    Congrats on the awards. YAY!

Leave a Reply

