Pinging

While I still have no news about the release of my next book, The King and the Calico…in London, all kinds of ideas are pinging around in my brain. 

I’ve posted before about my crazy dog, Miss Fee, and recent events have only proven I’m on the right track.  She is just full of personality.  And seriously, sometimes when I’m writing, she comes up next to me whining, and it’s like she’s saying, “Come on, Mama, put me in a book.”

My publisher also plans on the King and the Calico books being a series set in the most tourist-attractive cities in the world.  So, you can expect my odd couple cats to appear in such places as New York City, Rome, Munich, and I-don’t-know-where-else (yet).  My kids would like me to set my cats in Montreal, because they loved it so much when we visited this summer.  And some friends suggested Athens.  Who knows?

Our school year begins next week, which means I’ll have much less time to write, and will have to be very organized about all those pings.  A few secret projects are pinging around too.  You’ll just have to wait for those.  I haven’t yet decided how much and if I’ll share.  *rubbing fingertips together*  Yes, I’m being mysterious.  I love mysteries.

Hmm, there goes another idea.  *furious scribbling*

What’s pinging around your writerly brains, my writerly friends?

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pinging

  1. Susanna says:

    I’m afraid, with school about to start, my writerly brain is a disorganized mess 🙂

    Maybe your cats can have an Olympic-related adventure in Montreal or Athens!

  2. Stacy S. Jensen says:

    Organization. I want to meet a few deadlines, get ready for a short trip and write. I’ve been dealing with how to organize it all. I checked out your books page. Very nice. I traveled on Safari in 2006. It’s difficult to visit a zoo’s African exhibit. But, for now, that’s how my son will see those animals. Good luck with all your projects. I like Sicily as an option. Lots of ruins, etc. to explore.

  3. Congrats on all the ideas full of possibility! Isn’t imagination wonderful?! I’m juggling two YA novel ideas, a picture book idea, and multiple short stories. Sometimes I prefer when the ideas come more slowly, so I can focus more easily. Mixed blessings and all that.

  4. Starting my next middle grade novel, some new picture books, a short story about my son Christopher, homeschooling has started back *sigh*, and various other responsibilities. *sob*
    Organization is key. (Something which I plan on doing this year.)
    Congrads on all your pings.

  5. That would be so great if your books ended up in all those touristy cities. I hope it all pans out for you! Like everyone else, I’m just trying to figure out how to organize my life better these days. Maybe one day it will happen!

  6. Kelley says:

    OOOO secret projects? I love them…

  7. Catherine Johnson says:

    Oh do one in Australia or New Zealand please! I am very excited about my current WIP because it has fairies and goblins in, who’d have thought. Have a great week Brooke!

Leave a Reply

