First Campaign Challenge

I’m a little late with this, but I wanted to post it anyway, just for the experience (I’m not going to officially sign up on the Linky over at Rach Writes).  The challenge was to write a 200 word (exactly, if possible, otherwise under 200 words) flash fiction piece that begins with the phrase, “The door swung open.”

This is adapted from my book, The King and the Calico…in Paris, with my two favorite cats, Pompidou the pampered Siamese, and Suzette the stray calico.

The door swung open into Pompidou’s room.  He showed Suzette the tiny mouse toy he used to escape, and Madame’s room, and the bright kitchen that held lots of cat food.

“Here, have some tuna,” he offered.

Suzette ate her fill.  A warm sensation began in her belly and spread throughout her fluffy white, orange and black body.

“So, what do you think?” Pompidou asked.

Suzette’s eyes flicked from the many tall windows to the dainty figurines on Madame’s shelves to the Tiffany lamps in the salon.  Then she shrugged.  “Nice place.”

Despite pretending indifference, she thought the apartment was beautiful.  A place filled with warmth, light and love.  But it wasn’t her home.  “I kind of like my freedom.  Coming and going when and where I like.  Eating what I what, when I want.  And the Eiffel Tower looks beautiful all lit up at night.”

Pompidou nodded a white and gray head.  He wanted her freedom too, but he also liked his comfort.

“Guess we’ll just have to keep meeting outside this apartment to go on adventures,” Suzette said.

Pompidou meowed his agreement.

Suzette headed to the door of the back bedroom.  “See you tomorrow?”

The door swung shut.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First Campaign Challenge

  1. Susanna says:

    Very nice! A little bit town mouse and country mouse – each loving his/her own world for some reasons but seeing the attraction of the other’s way of life. It sounds very appealing 🙂

  2. I already like these two cats! Makes me want to read your book. Well done, Brooke.

  3. Dawn says:

    Nice story with the cats. You can sense the personality already. I LOVE the names…they are full of life!

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    The Write Soil

  4. Hey from Fellowess Campaigner and Furball, my red terror cat! Okay, he used to be named Fireball until he got lazy. You might guess I’m a cat lover too. You’re story is cute. I had a calico cat in my flashfiction too. I’m number #192 on the linky list, or you go there from here, http://sherahart.blogspot.com

  5. Thanks for sharing this Brooke. I read it last week when it posted, but while on vacation I had limited access to comment. I was out with the Buffalo in Custer, SD. They were not ready for kindergarten.

Leave a Reply

