Elephant & Piggie

I can’t just single out one title – we love all the Elephant & Piggie (by Mo Willems) books we’ve read so far. And the most exciting thing right now, is that my 5-year-old wants to read them himself.

He’s starting to understand the concept of sight words and almost gets having to sound things out. It’s like solving a math problem. He looks at the word, he looks at the picture, he thinks about the context, and he makes a guess. Sometimes he’s right, sometimes he’s not. But it’s beyond-words-awesome that he wants to try.

My older son was not reading at this point in kindergarten – not until Spring Break – but the older one is now an avid reader. I think that’s my little guy’s motivation. He knows what fun books his older brother is reading and he wants in on it. He wants to read Percy Jackson and Harry Potter and Jacob Wonderbar himself. Hearing about the books and seeing the movies isn’t enough for him anymore.

Like I said, we are really at the beginning of this. He really isn’t sounding out and blending yet, just taking guesses based on first letter, context and picture. For example, tonight he read the word “need” twice with no problem, but the third time he said “know.”

I’m amazed at how much patience he has for this, too. I get a little frustrated and want to say, “Okay, enough for tonight, let Mommy read the rest,” but he wants to keep trying, and trying, and trying.

It’s just so unexpected. We didn’t think lightning could strike twice and we’d have two awesome readers. But it looks like we are about to have two awesome young readers in the house. Watch out libraries and bookstores, the Rousseaus are coming!

This entry was posted in Books, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Elephant & Piggie

  1. I think that’s wonderful that he’d doing this already. Last night,my 16-month-old got off my lap and found another book to hand me. He wanted more and crawled back into my lap. Looking forward to his own reading stages ahead.

  2. akossket says:

    That is soooo sweet. I hope the trend continues because reading is so wonderful. I remember spending hours in a book as a kid and even forgetting about lunch or diner (it will take one of my parents to come drag me out. Sometimes even “threaten” me to take the books away).

  3. Susanna says:

    It’s really something to watch the world open up for them like that, isn’t it? How wonderful that he loves to read 🙂

  4. Tanya Reimer says:

    How magical! Now this one brought tears to my eyes.

  5. That is SO fantastic! My six-year-old is getting there. He’d love to be able to read by himself, but he doesn’t like that it requires effort to learn how. So he plods along. But the grin on his face when he succeeds at new words is worth every moment of resistance. (Thanks for all of your comments at my blog, and sorry it took me so long to stop by!)

  6. Great post, Brooke. So happy to hear you have two boys who like to read. And yeah for Elephant & Piggie!!

Leave a Reply

