Indie Kids & Anathema

So I did it again. I disappeared on y’all. I didn’t mean to, but life caught up to me. Medical issues and writing and work. You know—stuff.

Anyway, I’ve decided that rather than focus this blog on writing, I’ll focus on reading. Specifically, picture books, early readers, chapter books, and indie reading. I download a lot of kidlit onto my Kindle and quite a lot of it has been independently published (*cough cough*).

Today I’ll start with Anathema by K.A. Tucker, a YA paranormal in the Causal Enchantment series. Go to the author’s site for the complete synopsis. But, in a nutshell, orphaned Evangeline is desperate to make a personal connection when she stumbles into beautiful and mysterious Sofie. Sofie offers Evangeline a job that takes the two to New York City to stay in the luxurious home of friends, Viggo and Mortimer. But every night Evangeline seems to travel to an imaginary world filled with danger, and a beautiful young man she can’t resist. Evangeline must figure out how to do what everyone wants her to do without getting herself killed.

I enjoyed this story. The two worlds felt real, as did the characters. I wanted Evangeline and Caden to get together. I wanted her to figure it all out and get “home” safely with Caden and her other new friends in tow. And there were few typos or errors to jolt me out of the narrative.

However, Anathema has one of those endings. You know the ones—the kind where you’re so invested in the story and how it ends, and then it leaves you hanging. Big sigh. I’m all for hooking a reader and making her want to read the sequel, but not by leaving the main character in a huge cliffhanger that makes your reader close the book (or turn off the Kindle) in disgust.

Does that mean you shouldn’t give it a try? Absolutely not. If you like young adult paranormal, then go for it. Tucker kept me turning pages. I just wish there had been more of an ending.

Will I read book 2? Probably. I do want to know how Evangeline gets out of the predicament she finds herself in at the end of book 1. There’s more I want to know, but I can’t write it here because I don’t want to spoil the ending for anyone else.

I’ll be talking about more indie YA and MG novels in the coming weeks, but what are you reading right now? Have you read Anathema? Would you?

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Indie Kids & Anathema

  1. Brooke – so nice to see you back! Thanks for the heads up on Anathema. I’ll wait until the sequel is out before I read the first one – that way I can keep on going 🙂 If you’re going to be focusing on reading, maybe you’d like to join in on Perfect Picture Book Fridays! There is a specific format because we want consistency and the whole point is to include resources for parents and teachers to make it easy for them to expand on a book’s usefulness, but if you’re interested come on over and check it out!

    The main page: http://susannahill.blogspot.com/p/just-right-books.html

    and last week’s post so you can get an idea: http://susannahill.blogspot.com/2011/12/perfect-picture-book-friday-balloons.html

  2. tanya reimer says:

    I actually pitched the last cliffhanger ending book in the garbage. So… Nope I probably wouldn’t read it just for that fact! Hope you enjoy book 2! lol

  3. Hi Brooke, Glad things have calmed down some and you are back to the blog.
    I enjoyed your review. Even though there’s enough good here to make it tempting, I don’t think I’ll read it. I hate an unsatisfying ending. Perhaps, like Susanna said, when book two comes out, so there won’t be any pulling of hair.

  4. Vicki Tremper says:

    Oh, I think that’s a great idea to wait for the sequel to release so we can read them back to back. Love! And I just looked this book up and the sequel comes out in January. Cool! Maybe I’ll preorder it with my Chanukah money.

Leave a Reply

